Explore Case Studies


Ecuador is situated on the equator between Columbia and Peru in South America and is 283,561 km2 (27,684 km2 of land and km2 of water 6,720 km2) with 2,237 km of coastline. The climate in Ecuador is predominantly tropical particularly at the coast and in the Amazon jungle, but is cooler in the higher inland areas. There are four distinct geographical zones in Ecuador: the coastal areas, the mountain ranges, the eastern divide and the Galapagos Islands. Ecuador is one of the world’s ‘megadiverse’ countries and is home to 10 of the world’s biodiversity ‘hotspots’.